2000 House of Assembly Results

Parliamentary elections were held in Zimbabwe on 24 and 25 June 2000 to elect members of the House of Assembly. The electoral system involved 120 constituencies returning one member each, elected by the First Past the Post system, with the President of Zimbabwe then nominating 20 members and ten further members from the Tribal Chiefs sitting ex officio. This was the first national election in which Zimbabwe’s ruling Zanu-PF party had faced any real opposition since the 1980s. The newly formed Movement for Democratic Change challenged Mugabe’s control of parliament. The MDC won 57 of the 120 elected seats, with 47% of the popular vote.[1] Zanu-PF won 63 seats and carried approximately 48% of the popular vote.


Leave Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *